Guest Blog – King of Math reviewed by Josh

5 Jun

Today I welcome a review from my very first guest blogger.  Josh is an 18 y.0. student from Melbourne who is studying for a Bachelor of Applied Science (Mathematics).  His own blog, Mathematical Mischief (http://mathematicalmischief.wordpress.com/) is aimed at helping everyone to get a better understanding of Mathematics and is a great resource for students.  Do go and visit his blog.

And now, over to you, Josh.

King of Math

Well, erm… Hi. I’m Josh. 🙂

Now, if you’re wondering where I’m from, what I do – let’s just say you can find it all at Mathematical Mischief. Today, though, I’m not here to spiel about my blog, or what I do.

I’m here to talk about a game called ‘King of Math‘, made by the awesome dudes over at Oddrobo Games (they’re Swedish).
The first three level packs are available in game when you download the app (which is free), but to play the remaining levels, you need to buy the in game pack (which is $0.99, well worth the investment).

Click the logo to go to iTunes!

So you’re bored, slightly competitive, and really like math. You’re not quite sure what you could do, though. Here’s your answer, if you’re up for the challenge.

King of Math is a way to get kids, young and old, practicing math, but to have a little bit of fun at the same time. Plus, it’s got some wacky medieval music going on too. 🙂

Here’s the idea – You’re a mysterious farmer, trying to conquer the magical books of math – 12 books, with all sorts of topics.
From fractions, to indices, to addition, subtraction, geometry and statistics, there’s a book for everyone.

In each of these books, there are nine levels. You unlock them one at a time, but here’s how they go:

You have this small board (like the one below). The idea is, that you answer ten questions, as fast as you can, before time runs out. (you have about ten seconds per question). Three mistakes, and you’re out.

Screenshot from ‘King of Math’

When you finish, you get a score based on how much time you have left, and how many mistakes you have made. The general idea is, that by advancing ranks, you work your way up the medieval trades and become king of the math puzzles. 🙂

See? I’ve become a blacksmith now! (well, I’m actually a King, :P)

There is also another little trick to doing these puzzles (rather than being ultra competitive) – by practicing, it helps you to work on your maths skills. It can be really helpful if you know how to do these percentages off of the top of your head, 🙂

Unfortunately, there are some downsides to King of Math. The game makers have assumed that players understand some of the later topics, which can make it fairly hard to understand at times. However, once those topics are understood, it becomes a lot easier, and you can really get the most out of the app.

So, what are you waiting for? Get right on it, 😛

(At the time of this article, this writer (MathMischief) had a rank of 243 out of 707,261 players. Good luck!)

All the best,

Josh.

P.S. – If anyone wants a screenshot of my rank, I’m happy to oblige. 🙂

Publisher: Oddrobo Games
Price: Free (full game unlock 99 cents in-app purchase)
Universal – will work on both iPhone and iPad.
King of Maths - Oddrobo Software AB

9 Responses to “Guest Blog – King of Math reviewed by Josh”

  1. Josh Young 05/06/2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Reblogged this on Mathematical Mischief and commented:
    Review for King of Math, for my blogging friend Sarah over at On Sarah’s iPad.
    Figure you could do with some reading while I’m not around, 🙂

  2. stephan182 03/08/2012 at 5:00 am #

    Hi Josh, I have just googled the term king of math and found this article. I really have a lot of respect for mathematics students. The study is quite hard. I’ve always been good at it too, but don’t study it though. You know what? I totally believe your rank, because I am 1st place! But to make it sound more human.. I’ve discovered a bug. I’ve been 10th place before Ive discovered it.
    Stephan

    • Josh Young 03/08/2012 at 1:59 pm #

      Hi Stephan,
      That’s awesome! 🙂
      The study isn’t too bad, I quite enjoy it. It does have its moments – but in general, it’s fairly interpretive.
      I’m tutoring a student in integral calculus at the moment, she finds it easier than differentiation. The concepts itself are fairly practical, but in my course theres a nice mix.
      A bug? That is interesting, I keep in touch with Oddrobo and didn’t realize that there was a bug – may have to find it out and let them know. 😛
      Feel free to drop by my blog anytime, 🙂

  3. Zornok 27/01/2013 at 10:41 am #

    How many points does it take to become a king?

    • Josh Young 27/01/2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Hi Zornok,
      If I remember correctly, it was about 6,000,000 points. The guys at Oddrobo have this thing where they like to set their levels at odd targets – they’re never at an obvious point, haha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Media Point » Guest Blog – King of Math reviewed by Josh « On Sarah's iPad - 05/06/2012

    […] Read more here: Guest Blog – King of Math reviewed by Josh « On Sarah's iPad […]

  2. Guest Post: Math Formulas reviewed by Josh « On Sarah's iPad - 22/06/2012

    […] is my 50th official blog post and I’m handing it over to Josh, who previously reviewed King of Math for me.  I’m really happy for him to review this App as he is much more of an expert in […]

  3. Mathematical Mischief – Merry Christmas! - 23/12/2012

    […] to finish off, I’d just like to share a few stats on one of my favourite apps, King of Math, published by Oddrobo. They’ve recently celebrated the first anniversary of the release of […]

  4. Guest Blog – King of Math: Junior, reviewed by Josh « On Sarah's iPad - 04/01/2013

    […] King of Math (https://onsarahsipad.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.

