Penguin Storytime

22 Jan

Liz Shanks presents this 17-episode video podcast for parents and children.    In each podcast, originally published in 2010, Liz reads a mix of classic and new picture books to children in the “Listen, Learn and Grow sessions.”  Most episodes feature a single picture book, although at least one has two related stories.  Parents will benefit from Liz’s brief talks on the importance and benefits of reading to children.  Children will enjoy the beautiful picture books and the warmth of Liz’s story-telling style.

I like to keep a couple of these podcasts on my iPad at a time.  If things are going “crazy” around the home, the best strategy is to sit down and read a story with them but sometimes I might be in the middle of cooking dinner or bathing a baby and I just can’t get to it.  These podcasts are the next best thing and my children will listen and watch with rapt attention.  While the podcast is no substitute for my own story time with the children, they fill the gap with a bit of peace.  My children have sought out particular titles and found other books by the authors featured as a result of watching the podcasts, and they each have their favourite stories that we watch again and again.

The podcasts can be played on any device capable of playing MP4 files.  The podcasts are free, so download and enjoy.

You can also view the episodes on YouTube by clicking here.

Penguin Storytime

7 Responses to “Penguin Storytime”

  1. Christine 22/01/2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Have just had a quick look at this on YouTube. Fantastic find Sarah. And I love the idea of a book being read to my kids when I’m busy with dinner etc.

    • Sarah DeBellis 24/01/2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thanks Christine. I love the way she reads the stories to the children and the natural way they all respond. The episode looking at the two takes on the Three Little Pigs is our current favourite, but Strega Nona is up there too.

  2. Liz Shanks 25/01/2012 at 11:35 am #

    Hi Christine,
    Thanks for your comments on Penguin Storytime. I enjoyed introducing what I felt were classic picture books to the kids and also some soon to be classics. The instant feedback of a live audience is wonderful and very rewarding. So happy to know children are still enjoying the experience of these books.
    I invite you to visit my blog called LizsBookSnuggery.com which includes recommendations and videos for picture books that I love.
    Thanks,
    Liz Shanks

    • Sarah DeBellis 25/01/2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Hi Liz,
      THanks for taking the time to visit this blog and I know Christine is chuffed that you replied to her comments. I’ve just edited the original post to include a link to your blog. The reviews on it are wonderful. I was always a kind of picture book collector as a teacher, and now as a mother of 6, I am even more a collector.

      I’d also like to personally thank you for those wonderful podcasts that my children and I love so much. One of my criteria for a good picture book is that my children make me read it again and again until I could just about recite it backwards. Your podcasts also fit that category.

      Thanks for visiting this little blog,
      Sarah DeBellis

      • Liz Shanks 25/01/2012 at 10:07 pm #

        Hi Sarah,
        Wonderful to visit your site and hear your comments on Penguin Storytime. I am so happy I found it for it confirmed to me what those little faces in front of me were saying as I read. Not only were they enjoying it, but there was a wider “unseen” audience of children out there in cyberspace that I was speaking to and for.
        Thank you so much for the validation.
        Great!
        Liz Shanks

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decisions, Decisions – Why get an iPad? « On Sarah's iPad - 03/05/2012

    […] Penguin Storytime – Storytelling with Liz Shanks.  I reviewed this podcast a little while ago.  You can download 15 episodes from the iTunes Store. You won’t regret having it handy for your children. […]

  2. Are we there yet? Holiday car travel with iPads | On Sarah's iPad - 23/06/2013

    […] Penguin Storytime – Video – I reviewed this podcast last year and it is still one of our favourites.  In each episode,  Liz Shanks reads a mix of classic and new picture books to children in the “Listen, Learn and Grow sessions.”  Most episodes feature a single picture book, although at least one has two related stories. We have listened to these again and again, and we are not tired of hearing them yet. Most episodes are 15-20 minutes long, but one goes for about 45 minutes and another nearly an hour. […]

Comments are closed.

